"You missed it"

Standard

You know how someone would say, “You missed it” or “You missed out” if you didn’t go to a certain event? A lot of times when people say that to me, I’d answer with, “Oh no, how will I be able to live with myself?” I do so in a sarcastic manner of course. Obviously, I didn’t want to attend that certain event, so I know I missed whatever happened. Most of the time when people say that to me, it means that I didn’t miss much. I probably didn’t miss out on anything at all. They’re probably saying that to make me feel guilty about not going or something. It doesn’t work. I don’t feel guilty about it. Now, if it were a funeral or a concert, maybe I’d feel guilty or bad about not going. A luncheon, birthday party, wedding, camping trip, and other stuff similar to that isn’t my thing. I’m an introvert, so I could care less. I suppose that’s my problem huh? I don’t see it as a bad thing though. I have my space, my peace, and my quiet. People try to include me in stuff, but they do so in a not so great way, which is peer pressure. I’ve had them corner me before to try to get me to go to something that I didn’t want to go to. That didn’t work, but they sure are persistent for other times. I don’t think they get it. I know I don’t miss out on anything because nothing remotely interesting ever happens to me. The only interesting thing that’s happened to me was that I was able to finally attend a concert of my favorite group. It’s rather sad though considering I’ve been a fan of them for 14 years. See, if I missed that concert, I would have regretted it. Everything else will not be regrettable unless it’s really important.

I had this entry as a draft for a while. I think I originally had something else to say. I don’t remember it now, obviously. I think I’ve said what I wanted to say. I don’t know if anyone would read this post, but has anyone ever tried to make you feel bad by saying “You missed it?” to you? What is your response? How do you deal with it? Are they persistent?